Common Oregon Car Insurance Laws You Need to Know
Like all U.S. states, Oregon has its own set of car insurance laws and requirements. Since the legal penalties and financial costs for disregarding auto insurance laws are often severe, it’s critical that you know exactly what’s required before you get behind the wheel. Here are a few common Oregon car insurance laws you should know.
Insurance Is Required for Every Driver, Period
There are no exceptions: if you’re going to drive a car in the state of Oregon, you must possess adequate auto insurance. If you are discovered driving without insurance, significant penalties are possible, including hefty fines, license suspension, and vehicle impoundment. In addition to having to pay the damages out of pocket, the penalties will be even worse if you are in an accident without insurance.
There Are Minimum Required Amounts of Auto Insurance Coverage
In Oregon, not just any arbitrary amount of insurance coverage will suffice. Liability insurance helps to cover the resulting costs of injuries to another person or property damage in an accident that you cause. The state requires you to have $25,000 liability coverage for the bodily injury or death of one person, $50,000 liability coverage for total injury or death liability, and $25,000 liability coverage for property damage per accident. Additionally, you must have $15,000 in personal injury coverage and $25,000 in uninsured motorist coverage per person.
Oregon Follows the “Fault-based” System
Some states follow a “no-fault” system, in which each driver turns to his or her own personal injury coverage in the event of a crash. But if you are at fault in an accident in the state of Oregon, any resulting financial losses stemming from the crash become your responsibility. These can include injuries, property damage, and lost income. The injured party in an accident can seek compensation by filing a claim with his or her own auto insurance provider, by filing a third-party claim with the at-fault driver’s provider, or by filing a personal injury lawsuit against the driver in civil court.
At Focus1 Insurance Group, we can find an auto insurance policy that meets your needs and budget and covers all of the legal bases. Our team forms lasting relationships with our customers, and we strive to find the best insurance policies for them. Contact us online or call us at 541-772-3120 to request your free quote today.