Four Oregon Car Insurance Laws Every Driver Should Know
While nearly every state requires drivers to carry auto insurance, each has its own additional, specific rules. Oregon is no exception. These are a few of the auto insurance laws every local driver should be aware of.
Oregon requires every driver to have four different types of auto insurance, including bodily injury liability, property damage liability, personal injury protection, and uninsured motorist coverage. Minimum coverage levels are as follow:
- Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person and $50,000 total
- Property damage liability: $25,000
- Personal injury protection: $15,000 per person
- Uninsured motorist coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 total
The Fault-based System
In some states, drivers use their own policy’s personal injury protection coverage for medical bills and other expenses, regardless of who was at fault for an accident. Oregon and many other states, however, uses a fault-based system, which means the driver at fault for the accident (or their insurance company) is responsible for covering these costs.
Proof of Insurance Requirements
If you get pulled over and can’t present proof of insurance, you may be in trouble. You’ll need to be able to show proof of coverage in the form of a current insurance card, copy of your policy, official letter from your insurance company, or DMV certificate of self-insurance. Penalties range from fines to license suspension, so it’s just not worth driving without proof of coverage. You could also be randomly contacted by the DMV at any time to verify your information. If you don’t have it, or if you provide incorrect information, your license may be suspended.
Car insurance companies can cancel an Oregon driver’s coverage at any time for a number of reasons. Most obviously, of course, would be non-payment. The law only requires 10 days’ advance notice before companies can cancel a policy due to nonpayment. But there are other reasons policies may be canceled, such as a poor driving record, frequent claims, and even bad credit. In these cases, insurance companies must give at least 30 days—and an explanation—prior to cancellation.
Shop for Insurance Today
When you move to Oregon, it’s important to insure, title, and register your vehicle here within 30 days to be in compliance with the law. Focus1 Insurance Group offers coverage that complies with all Oregon insurance laws, and our team can shop around with different carriers on your behalf to find the best rates. If you’re just looking for more affordable coverage, we can help you find the best deals too. Call Focus1 Insurance Group today at 541-772-3120 or request your free quote today!